Compliance Dismissals

Some cases for specific violations, such as those listed below, MAY be dismissed depending on various legal circumstances under Texas compliance laws.

In some cases, if the violation is corrected, and proof is presented to the Court by the appearance date or within the ten (10) business days following your appearance date, the case can be dismissed with a fee
 

Some of the most common violations that may be dismissed, along with the fee amounts, are listed here: 

 

Violation

Proof MUST be submitted by:

You MUST submit to the Court:

Dismissal Fee Amt.:

Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance)

At any time, even if an arrest warrant has been issued.

1.  Show proof that you had valid insurance on the date and time of the citation.

2.  Insurance documents will be verified by the Court with the insurance company prior to dismissal.

Note: It is a crime to knowingly file a fraudulent document with the Court.

NONE

NO License plate or only 1 license plate on vehicle

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof that registration was current on the date and time of the violation.

2.  Both plates must be on the vehicle when proof is submitted.

3.  Registration must identify the same vehicle as listed on the citation.

$10.00

Display an altered, unclean, or obscured license plate on vehicle

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Bring pictures of the front and back license plates of the same vehicle listed on the citation that clearly show the license plate is now in compliance with state law. 

$10.00

Fail to display driver’s license

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof that your driver’s license was valid at the date and time of the citation.

$10.00

Expired driver’s license

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof that you renewed your driver’s license by your appearance date.

$20.00

No driver’s license

At any time, even if an arrest warrant has been issued.

1.  Show proof that you had a valid driver’s license on the date and time of the citation.

NONE

Fail to change address on driver’s license

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof that you updated your address with the Texas Dept. of Public Safety on or before your appearance date.

$20.00

Driving while driver’s license invalid (suspended license)

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof from the Texas Dept. of Public Safety that your license was actually valid at the date and time of the citation and your driving privileges had been restored prior to driving the vehicle and receiving the citation.

NONE

Defective Equipment

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Provide proof that the defect was corrected.

2.  Proof must identify the same vehicle as listed on the citation.

3.  This dismissal does NOT apply to commercial motor vehicles.

$10.00

Expired Registration

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Present a receipt from the registration office showing that you have renewed your vehicle registration by your appearance date and

2.  Receipt MUST reflect that you paid the late registration fee penalty.

 

 

$20.00

 

 

Operate a vehicle without registration sticker properly displayed

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Present a receipt from the registration office that reflects your registration had been renewed prior to receiving the citation and

2.  Properly attach the registration sticker before your appearance date.

$10.00

Expired Disabled Parking Placard

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Show proof that you renewed your disabled parking placard on or before your appearance date.

 

$20.00

 

Violate driver’s license restriction or endorsement

Appearance date or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later.

1.  Provide proof that the DL restriction or endorsement was imposed because of a physical condition that was surgically or otherwise medically corrected prior to receiving the citation or in error and

2.  DPS must remove the restriction or endorsement before your appearance date.

$10.00

 

  • If the violation on your citation is not listed in the compliance dismissal chart, you may still be eligible to have the citation dismissed under Texas compliance laws.
    • The list is a brief description of the more common violations and may not be worded exactly the same on your citation. 
  • Please call the Court office at (409) 769-7452 if you are unsure as to whether or not your violation qualifies for a dismissal under Texas compliance laws.

Please Note: Some violations require an affidavit to be filed as proof of compliance.  These violations are:

  • Defective equipment volations.
  • Altered, unclean, or obscured license plate violations.
  • Operating a vehicle with no license plate or only one (1) license plate on the vehicle.  

The affidavit can be found here:  Compliance Dismissal Affidavit
 


Filing for a compliance dismissal in person or by mail:

  • Find your violation in the chart above or call the Court to see if the violation is eligible.
  • Mail, or bring with you to the Court, the required documentation (proof of compliance or affidavit) within the time limit specified in the chart, and
  • Mail, or bring with you to the Court, the required dismissal fee for your offense.  The fee must be paid in full at the time the request and proof is submitted.


Filing for a compliance dismissal by fax or e-mail and paying online or by telephone:

  • Find your violation in the chart above or call the Court to see if the violation is eligible.  Let the Clerk know you would like to pay online or by telephone.
  • Fax or e-mail the required documentation (proof of compliance or affidavit) to the Court within the time limit specified in the chart.
  • It is your responsibility to contact the Court via e-mail or telephone to verify that we have received your paperwork and that your dismissal request has been approved.
  • When paying online via The Payment Group, www.vidorpayments.com (compliance dismissals), be sure to enter the correct amount.  Failure to pay the correct fee will result in rejection of the dismissal request. When calling The Payment Group, 1-800-444-1187, to make your payment, it is your responsibility to give the operator the correct payment amount.  DO NOT subtract the processing fee or tax charged by The Payment Group from the amount of your payment to the Court. That fee is in addition to the Court payment.  

PRIVILEGED ( DISABLED ) PARKING VIOLATIONS:

  • If you received a citation for parking in a disabled parking space and you are the owner of an EXPIRED disabled parking placard, please locate your offense in the chart above, read the compliance requirements, and follow the directions to file for a compliance dismissal timely if you are eligible.
  • If you received a citation for parking in a disabled parking space and you are the owner of a VALID disabled parking placard that was VALID at the time of the offense, please print out the disabled parking affidavit below and submit the signed, notarized affidavit to the Court along with a copy of your valid disabled parking placard and driver's license if applicable.  After the Court verifies ownership and validity of the placard, the case will be dismissed. 
  • There are other circumstances in which a disabled parking violation may be dismissed.  Please see the disabled parking affidavit below to see if any of the dismissals listed apply to your situation.  If so, please submit the signed, notarized affidavit to the Court along with a copy of the valid disabled parking placard and the placard holder's driver's license if applicable.  

The affidavit can be found here:  Disabled Parking Affidavit

If you have any questions please contact the Court office at (409) 769-7452.

Court Staff











Presiding Judge

Judge Michael Abbott

Chief Clerk of the Court
Katrina Smith, CMCCII


Deputy Clerk / JCM
Carla Flanigan

Deputy Clerk
Karen Kibodeaux

Contact Us

City of Vidor
Municipal Court
1330 First Street
Vidor, TX 77662
Telephone: (409) 769-7452
Fax #: (409) 769-5712
 
Deputy Clerk / JCM:

Office Hours:
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.